Diana Vishneva's Context festival

Moscow
Saint Petersburg

October / December 2019

Competition for young choreographers

The young choreographers competition has become the main event of the Context. Diana Visheva festival. It aims to discover, support and cultivate the emerging talent of modern dance choreography in Russia. Every year since 2013 the expert panel reviews hundreds of entries and selects finalists. The shorlisted choreographers then stage and present their works to the international jury comprised of some of the biggest names in choreography, as well as to Moscow and St. Petersburg audiences.

When and Where

October 2019, Moscow, St. Petersburg

Who Can Participate

We seek brave, ambitious, open-minded choreographers. Applicants must be Russian nationals under 37 years of age. Neither formal dance training nor your dance style or creative preferences are important. All you need is to have an original idea and be willing to share it.

Application Deadline

30 June 2019

How to Apply

To apply please provide a detailed proposal of your piece. Your choreographic intention must meet the following criteria:

1. The length of the piece is limited to between 6 and 10 minutes;
2. The required number of performers is from 2 to 8;
3. The work has to be created for the purpose of the 7th Context. Diana Vishneva festival;
4. Any changes to the concept of the work, its subject, genre or number of performers therein are not permitted throughout the competition;
5. All applicants must submit a rehearsal video of the work they wish to present at the competition, along with a detailed explanation of the idea.
6. Finalists must submit (unedited ) video recordings of their completed works no later than 1 month before the opening of the festival.

Timeline

April – June: application stage;
July – August: selection of finalists;
September – October: production of the piece;
October: competition finale, award ceremony.

Production Period

The festival assists the contestants in producing their works and transforming their artistic vision into reality. We provide both studio and stage rehearsals, while our technical staff help with lighting plots, sound settings and the adaptation of choreographies to each stage.

Prize

Finalists get to show their pieces in the leading theatres of Moscow and St. Petersburg during the Context. Diana Vishneva festival. The winner will receive a grant for a training programme at one of the world’s best dance companies or contemporary dance centres. The winner will also be able to present the work he will have choreographed during the programme / the results of this experience as a special guest at the festival next year.

Traditionally, the jury features the founder and art director of the festival Diana Vishneva, the festival’s programme curator, as well as world-renowned masters of choreography. In previous years permanent jury members have been joined by (the likes of) Hans van Manen, Mats Ek, ....... etc.

Competition Rules and Regulations (In Russian, PDF)

Additional information: competition@contextfest.com

Международный фестиваль современной хореографии Context Diana Vishneva

Москва
Санкт-Петербург

октябрь / декабрь 2019

Конкурс молодых
хореографов

Конкурс молодых хореографов — ключевое событие фестиваля Context. Diana Vishneva. Цель конкурса — поиск, поддержка и развитие перспективных молодых талантов в мире современной хореографии в России. Начиная с 2013 года каждый год экспертный совет отсматривает сотни заявок, лучшие из которых попадают в шорт-лист конкурса. Прошедшие отборочный тур конкурсанты создают свои работы и выносят их на суд международного жюри — признанных мэтров современной танцевальной сцены, а также зрителей Москвы и Санкт-Петербурга.

Где и когда:

Октябрь 2019 года, Москва и Санкт-Петербург

Кто может принять участие:

Мы ищем смелых, амбициозных и готовых к эксперименту молодых (до 37 лет включительно) хореографов, имеющих российское гражданство. Образование, стиль и творческие взгляды значения не имеют, главное — это уникальная идея и желание ей поделиться.

Заявки принимаются до:

30 июня 2019 года

Как принять участие:

Заполнить заявку, в которой подробно представить идею своей хореографической постановки, учитывая следующие критерии:

1. Продолжительность работы: от 6 до 10 минут;
2. Количество исполнителей: 2–8 человек;
3. Постановка должна быть задумана и создана специально для участия в конкурсе VII Международного фестиваля современной хореографии Context. Diana Vishneva;
4. Идея постановки, ее тема, жанр и количество задействованных артистов остается неизменным до окончания конкурса;
5. На этапе подачи заявки достаточно видеозапись чернового варианта будущей работы с описанием всех ее деталей;
6. Финалист должен представить видеозапись окончательного варианта конкурсной работы не менее чем за 1 месяц до начала фестиваля.

Этапы конкурса:

апрель – июнь: прием заявок;
июль – август: формирование шорт-листа;
сентябрь – октябрь: подготовка конкурсной программы;
октябрь: финал конкурса, награждение победителей.

Подготовка к финалу:

Фестиваль содействует в подготовке работ к показу и помогает воплотить художественные идеи хореографов в жизнь. Мы предоставляем репетиционное время в залах и на сцене, а профессиональная техническая команда помогает в работе со светом, звуком и адаптацией постановок под каждую площадку.

Главный приз конкурса:

Финалисты конкурса представят свои работы в Москве и Санкт-Петербурге на сценах ведущих театров в рамках фестиваля Context. Diana Vishneva. Победитель конкурса, выбранный профессиональным жюри, получит грант на стажировку в одной из ведущих мировых танцевальных компаний или центров современной хореографии. Кроме того, у победителя будет возможность выступить в качестве специального гостя на следующем фестивале, представив созданную в результате его стажировки работу.

Каждый год выступления финалистов оценивает жюри конкурса, в состав которого входят основатель фестиваля Диана Вишнёва, куратор зарубежной программы фестиваля, а также выдающиеся мастера современной хореографии. В предыдущие годы в работе жюри принимали участие Ханс ван Манен, Матс Эк, Кристофер Стоуэлл, Матс Эк и другие.

Полные правила проведения конкурса (PDF)

Дополнительная информация: competition@contextfest.com